Channel: University of Cambridge - Latest news
Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 3762

The Royal Society announces election of new Fellows 2017


In addition, a further three researchers from the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, based at the Cambridge Biomedical Campus, have also been elected Fellows.

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship of many of the world’s most distinguished scientists drawn from all areas of science, engineering and medicine. The Society’s fundamental purpose is to recognise, promote and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

Sir Venki Ramakrishnan, President of the Royal Society, said: ““Science is a great triumph of human achievement and has contributed hugely to the prosperity and health of our world. In the coming decades it will play an increasingly crucial role in tackling the great challenges of our time including food, energy, health and the environment. The new Fellows of the Royal Society have already contributed much to science and it gives me great pleasure to welcome them into our ranks.”

The Cambridge academics announced today as Royal Society Fellows are:

  • Professor Krishna Chatterjee, Metabolic Research Laboratories, Department of Medicine
  • Professor Anne Ferguson-Smith, Department of Genetics
  • Professor Mark Gross, Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics
  • Professor David Owen, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research
  • Professor Lawrence Paulson, Computer Laboratory
  • Professor David Rubinsztein, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research
  • Professor Andrew Woods, BP Institute

The MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology Fellows are:

  • Dr Andrew McKenzie, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
  • Professor John David Sutherland, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
  • Dr Roger Williams, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Seven Cambridge academics are among the new Fellows announced todayby the Royal Society. Fellows are chosen for their outstanding contributions to science. The 50 newly-elected Fellows announced today join a list of scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK and Commonwealth. Past Fellows and Foreign Members have included Newton, Darwin and Einstein.

Creative Commons License
The text in this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. For image use please see separate credits above.


Viewing all articles
Browse latest Browse all 3762

Latest Images

Trending Articles

Latest Images